• Jonathan Levy LCSW

Jonathan Levy LCSW explains how to become an LCSW

What Is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker?

Licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) is one of several social work licenses granted by states nationwide, although the actual title may vary by state. An LCSW is a practitioner who has been approved by a state licensing board External link to provide comprehensive mental health services and assume greater responsibilities than a social worker who is not licensed.

The requirements for how to become an LCSW differ by state, but in general, all aspiring LCSWs must earn a Master of Social Work (MSW) degree, complete additional coursework and clinical training, and pass licensure exams.

See this at your local LCSW, therapist, psychologist?
See this at your local LCSW, therapist, psychologist?

Why become an LCSW

  • Offer general counseling, bereavement counseling and crisis intervention for individuals, couples, families and groups.

  • Supervise other social workers at their place of employment.

  • Manage agency programs (e.g., mental health).

  • Provide consulting for health plans, schools or businesses.

  • Serve as expert witnesses during court cases.

  • Practice independently (e.g., private practice).

Steps to become an LCSW

1. Earn a Master of Social Work, and Complete Additional Coursework

Individuals looking to become an LCSW must earn a master's degree in social work from an accredited school of social work External link.

After earning a master's degree, students who want to become an LCSW must complete additional coursework. As with all LCSW requirements, these clinical hours and courses vary by state.

The National Association of Social Workers External link (NASW) and other organizations offer the required coursework in person or online. Some employers may also provide or cover the cost of courses you need to become an LCSW in your state. 

2. Complete Additional Supervised Clinical Experience

Aspiring LCSWs must complete additional hours of post-MSW supervised experience, such as clinical psychosocial diagnosis, assessment and treatment; face-to-face individual or group psychotherapy/counseling; client-centered advocacy, consultation and evaluation; and research. As with all LCSW requirements, these clinical hours vary by state.

3. Pass the Required Licensing Exams

States have different requirements to become an LCSW, so it's important to verify which examinations you must pass to earn your license.

After earning their master's degree, students who want to become an LCSW may have to complete pre-licensure coursework on a variety of topics that may include aging and long-term care, child abuse assessment and spousal and partner abuse. Often, this coursework is delivered in the form of brief classes; however, this may vary according to each state's requirements. Please check with your state licensing board for more information.

Many states require those interested in becoming an LCSW to apply for, take and pass the following exams:

  • Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) national clinical exam

  • A law and ethics exam (varies from state to state)

4. Renew Your License

Once you become an LCSW, you must renew your license within the registration period for your state by completing continuing education units (CEUs). This ongoing education ensures that you are continually meeting the high standards represented by your license.

How To Become an LCSW in Other States

After becoming an LCSW, you may decide to practice in a different state than where you earned your license. The new state will require you to provide examination scores, transcripts and other documentation that you used to get your current license. It is possible that your ASWB examination scores can be transferred to your new area; joining the ASWB Social Work Registry External link may simplify the process.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All